Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average

[XP] Port of 1.1.1.0

04-08-2013, 09:18 AM
[XP] Port of 1.1.1.0
Howdy there. First post is a request, but it's as good as any, eh?

Anyway, I found out that the latest versions of RadeonPro don't support XP. This is a right peeper, as I have downgraded from 7 to XP due to old games not being able to make use of hardware acceleration for DirectSound.
It'd be fantastic if RadeonPro was ported over to XP. I can't go back to the CCC after using it. It's just fabulous.

Now, not being a programmer, I don't know how difficult this would be or what the problems are that prevent it from being run on XP. Is it possible for any detail to be given as to why it doesn't work on XP?
Also, are there plans to make future versions compatible with XP?

Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2013, 10:24 AM
RE: [XP] Port of 1.1.1.0
New features like DVC are not possible to be implemented in XP, other than that XP doesn't support DX10 and a lot of other things that might just slowdown RP development.

Out of curiosity, why do you need RP for old games that don't run in Vista and newer versions of Windows?

RadeonPro Users Guide - RadeonPro Features
04-08-2013, 04:07 PM (This post was last modified: 04-08-2013 04:08 PM by MajinCry.)
- The ability to use several injectors at once; SMAA, FXAA and SweetFX is amazing. I can get a damn good AA solution which doesn't cripple my 6670 by using the two AA methods, and SweetFX makes EVERY dull, dreary-gray game suddenly bright, colorful and downright pretty.

- Being able to edit the mipmap settings so as to get a significant performance gain. ATT crashes my games for some reason in XP, so I can't do it through that.

- Being able to permanently set the affinity of my games; non quad-threaded games, such as Neverwinter Nights and Rome: Total War, allows me to throw away a bazillion problems without potentially crashing the game by use of alt-tab.